Featured Antique Railroad Station Master's Desk

Discussion in 'Furniture' started by Michael Yoh, Apr 13, 2017.

1. Michael Yoh

Michael Yoh Member

Desk1.JPG Desk2.JPG Thank you for accepting me to this forum. I have an antique station master's desk that belonged to my grandfather, who was chief telegraph operator for the CVRR and then the PRR from the early 1900's to the 1940's. He obtained this desk, which appears to be walnut and is in excellent condition, except for two missing pieces of trim on the lower drawer. It has a real leather writing surface.
    I have never see another one quite like it even through internet searching. I was wondering if anyone else had seen one like this, and what may be it's value. I would think it would appeal to a railroad collector, especially one whose main interest is the CVRR or PRR.

judy, Aquitaine, SeaGoat and 4 others like this.
  2. Joshua Brown

Joshua Brown Decently-Known-Member

Welcome Michael, some people here might be able to identify this by these photos but It would be necessary for me (and might help others) if you got some more clear photos. I would especially like to see photos of the drawers ; for someone who doesn't have a lot of furniture styles memorized the draws (specifically the joint technique) is an easy way to identify the period a piece was made.:)

judy, Aquitaine and KingofThings like this.
  3. komokwa

komokwa The Truth is out there...!

4. KingofThings

KingofThings 'Illiteracy is a terrible thing to waist' - MHH

Welcome!

Joshua Brown likes this.
  5. evelyb30

evelyb30 Well-Known Member

Hello! My late dad was a rail nut's rail nut, and he'd have loved that.

6. verybrad

verybrad Well-Known Member

It is what we commonly refer to as a paymaster's desk. I think yours dates to about 1870, give or take. If stamped with a railroad property tag, it could enhance the value.

7. CGB_Spender

CGB_Spender Member

Welcome. That's a pretty amazing desk, I like it.

8. Aquitaine