Featured 1940s sterling turquoise Zuni style ring?

Discussion in 'Jewelry' started by Any Jewelry, Jul 1, 2017.

1. Any Jewelry

Any Jewelry Well-Known Member

A Zuni style ring. The turquoise cabochons are not matched. A lot of scratches on the back but no actual maker's mark, as is usual for older NA jewellery. (And yes, I know about the 1990 Indian Arts and Crafts Act.;))
    Is it 1940s? Any other ideas?
    Thanks for looking.
    DSC08003 (640x427).jpg DSC08005 (433x640).jpg DSC08004 (457x640).jpg

Cleaned it a bit more, but no mark:
    DSC08006 (640x427).jpg

Last edited: Jul 1, 2017
  2. evelyb30

evelyb30 Well-Known Member

With those stones, I'd say more Navajo than Zuni. Not every maker marks things even now, and it doesn't look incredibly old. I'd say more 1970 than 1950, but I'm not an NA expert.

Any Jewelry likes this.
  3. Hollyblue

Hollyblue Well-Known Member

It could have been made by anyone in the last 40/50 years,white,black,brown,Asian,NA,It would be just a guess even by the "experts".

Any Jewelry likes this.
  4. Any Jewelry

Navajo rings shanks are usually split where they are soldered against the crown, Zuni use single, non-split shanks.
    I know Robert Dishta (Zuni) made similar things in the 50s, but those were signed and the stones were more matched.
    But it is a pretty generic style and this ring doesn't have Robert Dishta quality.

judy likes this.
  5. evelyb30

It might even be "deadhead sterling", jewelry made by some hippies who followed the Grateful Dead around from town to town. A fair number of them made silver rings and the like, and some of those were Native style. The single shank would be common for that group too.

judy and Any Jewelry like this.
  6. Any Jewelry

Thanks, interesting, something to look into.

judy likes this.
  7. Any Jewelry

I can only find the usual skull and lightning bolt deadhead jewellery, and some macrame of course, easy to make when you're on the road.

judy likes this.
  8. evelyb30