30th anniversary

Discussion in 'Jewelry' started by Catlovr, May 2, 2018.

1. Catlovr

Catlovr Active Member

Does anyone know of a good jeweler, that is reputable and fair? Wife wants a pink sapphire ring, I know jewelry mark up is ridiculous, and im a bit overwhelmed and dont want to get ripped off. Thank you!! Im in the U.S. if that matters.

judy likes this.
  2. Catlovr

Catlovr Active Member

She is looking at a 2ct emerald cut ceylon pink sapphire with 6 side diamonds totaling .25 ct tw. The center stone is heat/color enhanced and is in a 14k wg mounting.

Last edited: May 2, 2018
  3. Catlovr

Catlovr Active Member

I don't want to list the company in the open forum but can give details in pm. Thanks again.

Last edited: May 2, 2018
  4. Catlovr

Catlovr Active Member

5. gregsglass

gregsglass Well-Known Member

Hi,
    If heat treated I would pass since after a time the heat treatment will make the sapphire much paler. I am a not an expert of stones but have always stayed away from any treated stones. I may be an alarmist. Wait for the "jewelry" experts to chime in.
    greg

judy, yourturntoloveit and Catlovr like this.
  6. evelyb30

evelyb30 Well-Known Member

It's pretty, but not my style in the least; I'm decidedly un-fond of treated stones. A real pink sapphire is a whole different ballgame. The one in the picture to me looks like costume. Then again I generally only buy pieces my age or older, so....

judy and yourturntoloveit like this.
  7. Hollyblue

Hollyblue Well-Known Member

Unless the stone has been tested by a reputable lab like GIA,etc. few people know if a stone is heat treated or not.For over a thousand years rubies and sapphires have been heat treated at the mines and gone through many hands before the stone cutters.

Heat treatment history...... http://www.ruby-sapphire.com/brief-history-heat.htm

8. evelyb30