Advice on value and restoration of Charles Dickens 1st Edition Book

Discussion in 'Books' started by Mattiques, Aug 11, 2016.

1. Mattiques

Mattiques Member

Hi everyone,

I've managed to get hold of a 1start edition Charles Dickens book. Unfortunately the front cover has come off from it.

I am pretty new to buying to sell all kinds of antiques and bought this as love the fact I own it, even if for a short period of time. I'm now in a predicament of if I should get it restored or sell as is as I'm not sure of value of it, and how much the value is hurt by front cover being off and how much value will be added getting it repaired?

Any advice etc, as always, is welcome. I'm expecting restoration cost will cost me more than I paid for the book, but not sure if that's best way to go.

Thanks again.

Matt

Attached Files:

KingofThings likes this.
  2. Mattiques

Mattiques Member

Forgot to add it's signed by a Dr J.S Campbell who after some research seems to be a prominent Dr of the times, actually helping write a book of his own. Not sure what this does to the value but thought it was interesting as seems he owned the book. Bookeep also has hand written notes inside it, that I'm presuming are the Dr's.

KingofThings likes this.
  3. afantiques

afantiques Well-Known Member

Can you show the title age to determine exactly what edition it is?

The loose board is a bit of a problem but professional repair would be more expensive than the book. It is not an original Chapman and Hall binding.

KingofThings likes this.
  4. Debora

Debora Well-Known Member

5. Mattiques

Mattiques Member

Thanks for that. I've added a few more photos that could help.

I've noticed the signature doesn't seem to match the stamp that's on the title page. The stamp is from Dr Campbell, not sure whos the signature is or why they would sign a book?