Age of Beaded Purse

Discussion in 'Textiles, Needle Arts, Clothing' started by vitry-le-francois, Jun 21, 2015.

1. vitry-le-francois

vitry-le-francois Well-Known Member

Any idea when this purse was made? Measures 6 1/2 inches wide. Can the damage/missing tassels at bottom be repaired? No markings found.

purse6.jpg purse2.jpg purse1.jpg purse3.jpg

KingofThings likes this.
  2. KingofThings

KingofThings 'Illiteracy is a terrible thing to waist' - MHH

Looks 1900-20 to me, maybe 30s, and if you can find near identical beads then I should think so. If not, intersperse them with others so it looks like it was always like that but either way reveal that info should you sell. :)

3. vitry-le-francois

vitry-le-francois Well-Known Member

Great info, thanks! :)

KingofThings likes this.
  4. KingofThings

KingofThings 'Illiteracy is a terrible thing to waist' - MHH

:) For what it's worth... I'm not an expert but seen and had them around. Others here will be along to help as well I'm sure. :)
    The color may push it later but don't think earlier... :wideyed:

5. Bev aka thelmasstuff

Bev aka thelmasstuff Colored pencil artist extraordinaire ;)

There would have been a chain attached to the two loops on top

springfld.arsenal likes this.
  6. Pat P

Pat P Well-Known Member

It looks like the lining has been cut out? I think linings on bags like this were usually made of silk, don't know if that was always true, though.

I used to make antique-looking beaded jewelry, and have circa 1920s seed beads, plus newer ones, that I think may work to repair the fringe. If I do, I'd be happy to send them to you at no cost.

7. Bev aka thelmasstuff

Bev aka thelmasstuff Colored pencil artist extraordinaire ;)