Antique brass clock help please

Discussion in 'Metalware' started by tyeldom3, Aug 25, 2017.

1. tyeldom3

tyeldom3 Well-Known Member

It has seen better days, but can anyone help me identify possible maker, age or origin? I have no idea what inner parts may be missing, and someone looks to have used a white foamy type glue to adhere that front piece on. Any help at all is kindly appreciated, thanks for your time. I can't find any markings. a1.jpg a2.jpg a3.jpg a4.jpg a5.jpg a6.jpg a7.jpg a8.jpg a9.jpg
    Oh, and is this depicting anyone in particular?

2. buyingtime777

buyingtime777 Well-Known Member

I believe it is likely French in origin. It would have originally been accompanied by 2 garnitures (decorative pieces) that would have sat to either side for display. Off the top of my head it is missing the pendulum. Beyond that I am not an expert.

tyeldom3 likes this.
  3. buyingtime777

tyeldom3 likes this.
  4. tyeldom3

Wonderful information buyingtime, thank you so much! No wonder I couldn't find anything similar when searching brass clocks, LOL! I do see similar clocks now when searching the term ormolu, thanks again.:)

buyingtime777 likes this.
  5. buyingtime777

French Empire Mantle Clock is likely the correct description for it.

tyeldom3 likes this.
  6. tyeldom3

Great, thanks again buyingtime, you've been very helpful.

komokwa and buyingtime777 like this.
  7. afantiques

afantiques Well-Known Member

Open the back door to see the movement. Lots of clues there. I predict it strikes on a bell and has silk suspension.
    Certainly French, does appear to be gilt bronze, probably 1840 or thereabouts..

buyingtime777 and tyeldom3 like this.
  8. tyeldom3

Great Af, thanks so much. :)
    I will try to open it when I get back home in about an hour, and will post what I find.

9. tyeldom3

Ok, here is the back opened up, the only marking I see is VB, and then some faint scratched numbers in areas.

001.jpg 002.jpg

10. afantiques