Antique Painting Identification

Discussion in 'Art' started by Jackthejunker, Jan 24, 2021.

1. Jackthejunker

Jackthejunker New Member

Hello everyone,

I am interested in this antique painting that is for auction and I was wondering if y'all could help me learn more about it? I am a teen collector and collect all kinds of things but I am new at Oil Paintings. It appears to be victorian but I'm not sure if it is. The paintings dimensions are 48 x 34 inches. I am not able to see the piece because it is at an local online auction. It doesn't say the piece is signed but I'm wondering what its worth, how old it is, and all the history behind the piece anything helps!

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jan 24, 2021
  2. Debora

Debora Well-Known Member

Full Image when posting photographs, Jack. Makes it easier for everyone to see. Make sure you're posting the entire work including frame. And please also always post a photograph of the entire back along with good quality close-ups of any labels, stickers or handwritten notations. Otherwise, you'll get nagged. ;)

That looks familiar. Sargent, perhaps. Have you done a Google Image search?

Debora

Screenshot_20210124-174246.png

3. Jackthejunker

Jackthejunker New Member

I am not able to see the Oil Painting in person sadly! It's an Online Auction I have one other photo of the piece and I will update it to post along with dimensions. Thank you!

judy likes this.
  4. Debora

Debora Well-Known Member

Apologies. I didn't read your previous post carefully enough. Let's start at the beginning. What does the auction house say about it? And why do you find it of interest?

Debora

5. Jackthejunker

Jackthejunker New Member

The auction house gives bare minimum details just says oil on canvas and the dimensions. I like it because zi love Victorian antiques and have a lot of them. I'm just not sure if the piece is really old.

6. Debora

Debora Well-Known Member