Featured Anyone familiar with Artist Charles Sallee ??

Discussion in 'Art' started by orrbobby, Jun 14, 2018.

1. orrbobby

orrbobby Well-Known Member

Please help! I picked this up at thrift store. If you are familiar with Charles Sallee work, this looks like a classic Charles Sallee piece. Could this be an original Gouache painting? I have zero experience in this field. So much to learn. What is the difference between gouache and conte crayon?? Thanks in advance!! IMG_3366.JPG IMG_3364.JPG IMG_3365.JPG

Figtree3, judy and Any Jewelry like this.
  2. moreotherstuff

moreotherstuff Izorizent

This looks like it could be conte. Gouache is a dense opaque water color. Conte is like an oily chalk that is compacted into square-sectioned sticks. It's not as loose as charcoal, not as oily as pastel, and comes in a wide range of colors.

Could be a combination of things, but I'm not seeing anything requiring a brush.

This looks like the sort of portrait you'd get from a street artist.

Last edited: Jun 14, 2018
    antidiem, Figtree3, judy and 2 others like this.
  3. clutteredcloset49

clutteredcloset49 Well-Known Member

I was thinking it looked like the type of thing we did in art class and someone framed theirs.

The eyes aren't looking in the same direction.

BaseballGames, antidiem and judy like this.
  4. Any Jewelry

Any Jewelry Well-Known Member

I agree, it looks like conté. It is skilfully done, with considerable speed, so it could be a street artist.
    It is an attractive portrait, beautiful girl, very 60s. Reminds me a bit of Natalie Wood, but I don't think she was Jewish.

It doesn't look like Charles Sallee jr, the style is different, and he specialized in African American subjects.
    [​IMG]

Some great African American art on this site:
    https://www.holmesartgallery.com/new-index/

Last edited: Jun 15, 2018
    judy likes this.
  5. Any Jewelry