Anyone who can tell something about this cup?

Discussion in 'Pottery, Glass, and Porcelain' started by CatOphelia, Feb 15, 2020.

1. CatOphelia

CatOphelia New Member

Hello!

I stumbled upon this cute little cup, and have tried several times to trace its origin. I am a novice when it comes to pottery so I have very little background knowledge in this field...
    The details I managed to find are:
    The cup has no markings on the bottom;
    It is a purple transferware;
    It has a partial decoloration ( the color difference between the design on the inside and the one on the outside is pretty big.
    I believe it is dated between 18 and 19 century;
    (Please correct me if I am wrong)

What captured my attention is the outer design, it depicts palm trees, a castle, and some guards, it has a very exotic appearance. Also, it is in somewhat contrast with the flower design on the inner rim.
    Please let me know if you have any suggestions! I am very curious!
    IMG_0324.JPG IMG_0320.JPG IMG_0322.JPG IMG_0320.JPG

Any Jewelry likes this.
  2. judy

judy Well-Known Member

Hi CatOphelia!

Welcome to Antiquers..............:cat:

I can't help, but others will be along who can.

Any Jewelry and CatOphelia like this.
  3. CatOphelia

CatOphelia New Member

Thank you for your warm welcome! <3

4. judy

judy Well-Known Member

You're welcome. Glad to have you here.

CatOphelia likes this.
  5. say_it_slowly

say_it_slowly The worst prison is a closed heart

Hi and welcome!

It appears to be a Staffordshire teabowl in a mulberry (purple) pattern in one of the many "Oriental" styles. I imagine it dates about the second quarter of the 19th C.

If someone doesn't come and ID the pattern and possible maker I'll pull out some pattern books when I get a chance. Likely someone will know it though:)

6. Ownedbybear

Ownedbybear Well-Known Member

Early 19th C Staffordshire made transfer ware tea bowl.

7. Any Jewelry

Any Jewelry Well-Known Member

Welcome CatOphelia.