Can't read mark - but maybe someone recognizes it?

Discussion in 'Pottery, Glass, and Porcelain' started by KEL1, Mar 11, 2020.

1. KEL1

KEL1 New Member

Hi! I'm new to Antiquers. I'm trying to find out if anyone recognizes the mark on this Irish pottery piece. Thanks so much.
    F38C5460-DEA7-4909-BB0D-845A16F557AA_1_201_a.jpeg

Christmasjoy likes this.
  2. flipper

flipper Striving to face adversity with tact and humor

Irish something Ireland?

Maybe it would help if we could see what the item is? In its entirety.

Christmasjoy likes this.
  3. Ownedbybear

Ownedbybear Well-Known Member

Bet it's a wee cottage. That's a blue leprechaun.

Darkwing Manor likes this.
  4. say_it_slowly

say_it_slowly The worst prison is a closed heart

5. flipper

flipper Striving to face adversity with tact and humor

Who knew? But I still don't know what it is?
    Hmmmm? OBB, are you sure that is a blue leprechaun? Are you not convinced that it is a faded version of a crown and the letters MZ within a rhombus shape?? :confused:

Now, I cannot comment on the wee cottage part because we have not received a response yet.

judy likes this.
  6. Ownedbybear

Ownedbybear Well-Known Member

AHA! I tihnk you're right.

judy likes this.
  7. janetpjohn

janetpjohn Well-Known Member

Did everyone not see the link SIS posted?

Fid likes this.
  8. say_it_slowly

9. moreotherstuff

moreotherstuff Izorizent

Sure looks like Moritz Zdekauer to me - so Austrian Irish Dresden?.

10. Fid

Fid Well-Known Member

Anton Muller was working in the porcelain industry in Volkstedt in the late 19th century. He became highly regarded and in 1907 with Otto Hammer established in Volkstedt Porzellanmanufaktur Anton Müller. Anton Müller died in 1937. He was succeeded by his son Herman in the family business. Herman died during World War II and the factory was in 1945 demolished by allied bombing.