Capodimonte Vegetable Bowl

Discussion in 'Pottery, Glass, and Porcelain' started by Mungo, Mar 30, 2019.

1. Mungo

Mungo Active Member

$10 thrift store find, yay.

I'm still pretty new with antiques and pottery but I learned pretty early to be able to spot a capodimonte mark from a mile away. I'm only familiar with the figurines thus far though. I had no idea they made serving dishes.

So what is this thing? It seems kind of... domestically mundane? I've come across the term "majolica" recently and now I'm even more confused. Is it earthenware? porcelain? majolica? Should I just call it a "ceramic vegetable bowl"? There is a break in the piece that gives a clear view of clay its made of, i've included that picture. Any help figuring out what this thing is?

bowl.jpg 20190330_111653.jpg break.jpg

i need help and Bronwen like this.
  2. Bronwen

Bronwen Well-Known Member

Others who know what is correct will come along, but I know that it would get called majolica on eBay. I love it. Size?

Is everything on the top a seasoning? I see garlic & chili pepper. What else is there?

i need help likes this.
  3. Mungo

Mungo Active Member

it looks like chilis, garlic, large green onion, tomato, turnip, radish, tomato.

Unfotunately it also looks like I've been had. I found another of this series on ebay and it had a foil "original anart creation japan" sticker on it. https://www.ebay.ca/itm/Elegant-Vtg...-Vegetable-Green-Canister-Italy-/302958637125
    Upon doing a little more digging I found this: https://www.porcelainmarksandmore.com/related/usa/newyork-04/index.php
    At the bottom of the page you can see they have their own N crown logo they made for themselves(??) apparently.

There is another alternative, however. Apparently much of the stuff they simply imported and sold as private label or something. I guess its possible this is actual Capri, Italy capodimonte product imported by anart and sold as private label?