Featured Chinese carved wood lacquered warriors - Please help identify their age

Discussion in 'Antique Discussion' started by avant, Dec 5, 2018.

1. avant

avant Member

Dear fellow antiquers,
    I will be very grateful if those of you specializing in Chinese antiques could help me identify the age of these figures - a pair of carved warriors/guardians, and a Weituo figure. All three are lacquered: the pair of guardians look guilded, Weituo has a thick reddish golden lacquer.

I have inherited an antiques store (these were among the items) and working through its inventory to incorporate into my shop. Since I am only learning the ropes when it comes to Asian antiques (my areas are Middle Eastern antiques and antique printmaking), would very much appreciate any advice!

Thanks a ton in advance!

IMG_0260 copy.jpg

IMG_0262 copy.jpg
    IMG_0264 copy.jpg

IMG_9991 copy.jpg

IMG_9992 copy.jpg

IMG_9999 copy.jpg
    IMG_0002 copy.jpg

Last edited: Dec 5, 2018
    Zinnie, Any Jewelry, judy and 4 others like this.
  2. scoutshouse

scoutshouse Well-Known Member

3. avant

avant Member

Thank you!

i need help, judy and kyratango like this.
  4. scoutshouse

scoutshouse Well-Known Member

(the right folks will be along, soon)

5. Miscstuff

Miscstuff Australia

I'm wondering if they are chess pieces??

i need help and judy like this.
  6. komokwa

komokwa The Truth is out there...!

not unless that sharpie is an inch long....................:hungover::hungover::hungover:

or the chess board is 6 feet wide !! :hilarious::hilarious:

7. Silver Wolf

Silver Wolf Well-Known Member

the weituo figure looks older than the two guardians i think.the cracks and paint looks good,i think it is not younger than 19th century (just my guess),can you show the base photos?thank you

kyratango, komokwa, avant and 2 others like this.
  8. Any Jewelry

Any Jewelry Well-Known Member

I am absolutely in love with the first one, it is gorgeous.