Featured Cleaning Advice: Huge Japanese Vase

Discussion in 'Pottery, Glass, and Porcelain' started by LemonEcstasy, Mar 9, 2019.

1. LemonEcstasy

LemonEcstasy New Member

Hi guys,

I am completely new to the world of antiques. Recently I've been looking for fun vases for my flower arrangement and today I came across this one. I fell in love with it and decided on bidding on it despite all the stains it has. It is all covered with these brownish stains. I did look up that it is possible to clean the stains off, but I would like to make sure what method I should use. Baking Soda + Water Paste? Oxi Clean? I believe there's many experienced people in this forum. I really appreciate your advice.
    i-img600x425-1551489729fegysy20736JJ.jpg Stains Mark.jpg

kyratango, dgbjwc, Houseful and 2 others like this.
  2. clutteredcloset49

clutteredcloset49 Well-Known Member

Me personally, the first thing I do is squirt 50-50 ammonia and water, (if you can stand the smell). Then put Original Dawn on a sponge and wipe it down. Rinse and dry.
    Stay away from any bleach product.

If that doesn't do the trick. Soak in Peroxide. I use the peroxide from the pharmacy. Takes a little longer, but works just like the stronger hair stuff.
    Again, bleach will take out the color - stay away from it.

Wait for other suggestions.

BTW
    Welcome to the board.

3. Bakersgma

Bakersgma Well-Known Member

Welcome, LemonEcstacy! That's a beauty. Gentle methods are best as described by clutteredcloset.

4. Ownedbybear

Ownedbybear Well-Known Member

I'd have a go with denture tablets, too.

kyratango, i need help, judy and 4 others like this.
  5. judy

judy Well-Known Member

Hi LemonEcstacy!

Welcome to Antiquers!