Cleaning up and refinishing antique RailRoad Master’s Desk

Discussion in 'Furniture' started by Michael Hoyle, Oct 19, 2020.

1. Michael Hoyle

Michael Hoyle New Member

Greetings. I recently purchased an Antique Railroad Master’s desk that was in pretty bad shape and have begun the process of repair / Refinish work on this desk with wonderful potential.
    While I have some experience in refinishing older wood furniture, I would like to ask assistance from y’all so I do not screw this up.

should I take a good wood cleaner to it before I start to sand in prep for a new stain or varnish?
    Should I even consider staining it?
    Right now I have it separated into the two base cabinets, with the desktop On another table for refinishing. My plan for now is to Get the top Then work on the base cabinets. The roll top cabinet is probably in the worst shape and I’ll tackle that last.
    Once I have finished it’s going in my home office

all_fakes and antidiem like this.
  2. Michael Hoyle

Michael Hoyle New Member

Some before photos

Attached Files:

johnnycb09 likes this.
  3. Aquitaine

Aquitaine Is What It IS! But NEVER BORED!

If you're using an iPhone, I'd still like to shoot Mr Apple (NOT you!) for not being able to fix their sideways photos problem!!!! Here they are straight up!!! Looks like you've got your work cut out for you....I'll not be the one advising you....but will tag a couple of others.... @verybrad, @blooey, @Ghopper1924 ??? Others may well chime in some advise too!! Good Luck!!!:):)

3251FE1F-5D5A-4748-8011-B4CAF79E149A.jpeg

0738C8E9-C75A-4420-8FFE-1E8E55F8F648.jpeg

66704977-E7DA-4512-84E3-586D0C361D95.jpeg

4. Michael Hoyle

Michael Hoyle New Member

Thank you. Unfortunately my family is an Apple products family.
    As to the project, I have nothing but time and a desire to do this right

5. antidiem

antidiem Well-Known Member

This is just in my own opinion:
    No to wood cleaner, sanding cleans a lot of grime off.