Coin necklace: contemporary (1890s) or more modern?

Discussion in 'Jewelry' started by Hamburger, Feb 27, 2021.

1. Hamburger

Hamburger Absolute Beginner

What can folks say about this piece, please? The coin is an 1890 florin (Austria-Hungary) -- would it have been repurposed soon after (19th century medallion man!) or is that more likely to have happened later?

I could only find one -- tiny -- mark, on the uppermost 'loop' of the pendant/bezel (unfamiliar terminolgy, sorry), but don't have a clue what it might be. Anyone?

Thanks for looking!

IMG_6329.JPG IMG_6326.JPG IMG_6328.JPG 16_15_28_Pro.jpg

Last edited: Feb 27, 2021
    kyratango and Bronwen like this.
  2. Houseful

Houseful Well-Known Member

How long is the chain? Looks long, could be a muff or guard chain. I can see a possible silver mark on it too on the ring fastening to the spring ring.
    Sorry I can’t help with the coin.

Hamburger, i need help and Bronwen like this.
  3. Any Jewelry

Any Jewelry Well-Known Member

Those Habsburg coins are always decorative.:) It is Franz-Josef I, btw.
    My guess is 1950s-60s for the setting and the bail. The bail looks odd this way around. If the other side is also decorated, I would turn it over.;)

KSW, Hamburger, stracci and 3 others like this.
  4. Bronwen

Bronwen Well-Known Member

To my eye the frame is consistent with the age of the coin. Have seen plenty of cameos in similar settings. Can the pendant slide off the chain or is the bail too small to go over the small end? Agree the bail looks odd with the wide end down.

KSW, Hamburger, stracci and 3 others like this.
  5. A100JS

A100JS New Member