Does anyone have any information about these sculptures?

Discussion in 'Tribal Art' started by GX40, Sep 19, 2021.

1. GX40

GX40 New Member

ALL copy.jpg WhatsApp Image 2021-08-16 at 20.59.20.jpeg WhatsApp Image 2021-08-16 at 20.59.57.jpeg Hi,

It is my first time here so apologies in advance if I have broken the rules by asking!

I bought these sculptures from Cameroon. They are around 140cm tall by 30cm wide by 30 cm wide except for the tall one which is around 175 cm tall by 30cm wide by 30 cm wide.

They are apparently over 200 years old and I have certificates of authentication. Coming from Cameroon I don't know what to believe unfortunately! I am looking for guidance on the tribe, as in which tribe do they originate from? Has anyone seem these or anything like these before?

In addition, they are made of wood. They are really dark brown/almost black in colour, however when the sun shines on them they turn gold, as in the attached photo.

Does anyone have any clue at all about them?

DELETED BY MODERATOR
    Many thanks in advance and honestly, any piece of information would be amazing so please do say!

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 19, 2021
  2. komokwa

komokwa The Truth is out there...!

yes, you broke the selling/buying rules........but folks have done worse....so we'll let the Mods deal with that & still lend you our help on the art works..

@2manybooks
    @Taupou

did u buy them on line or in Africa ?
    Are your COA's from a known Gallery ?
    upload_2021-9-19_14-44-51.jpeg

they look nice but in my experience 200 year old african art....is rarely this large...or in such fine condition...

3. GX40

GX40 New Member

IMG_0373.jpg Thank you!

I bought them in Africa direct from a village. The COA is from them.

When you say they are not normally in such fine condition, they aren't. The first one if you go clockwise, has a massive hole in the top of it's head. Like attached.

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 19, 2021
  4. GX40

GX40 New Member