Doug White intro

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Douglas White, Jul 13, 2020.

1. Douglas White

Douglas White New Member

I’m a retired airline pilot and joined this group really not so much for an interest in antiques but to get some answers about a rolltop desk I have. Anybody that has some answers about how to unlock rolltop drawers please let me know! Thank you!Also I have a few inherited antiques that I could get some advice on.

2. Debora

Debora Well-Known Member

Welcome, Douglas! Sure you'll get the information you want here. Lots of knowledgable people. (And, sorry. Can't help with lock!)

Debora

Aquitaine likes this.
  3. clutteredcloset49

clutteredcloset49 Well-Known Member

Hello and welcome.
    Posting pictures has proven to be difficult for some new members.

Hope this helps
    https://www.antiquers.com/forums/introductions.3/

Pictures need to be 1MB or smaller.

If using your phone:
    Email to yourself as medium. Save them and post from there.

Clicking FULL IMAGE when adding pictures helps us.

Ask if you need more help

Debora and Aquitaine like this.
  4. Aquitaine

Aquitaine Is What It IS! But NEVER BORED!

Hi Doug, and WELCOME to ANTIQUERS!!:):):)

5. all_fakes

all_fakes Well-Known Member

6. Peasnquiet

Peasnquiet Well-Known Member

Found this trick to unlock roll top drawers:

"It's actually quite easier for 95% of rolltops ever made. The OP has been messaging offline... the fix remains the same.

In short.. remove the center drawer. Grab two flathead screwdrivers or a couple of butter knifes. Lay down in the knee hole and look up. The locking, springloaded, retractable tabs will be right above you. Using the flatheads or butter knifes, compress the flanges back into the locking tab. LIFT (a third hand can be handy). Voila!

Once the tambour is fully raised, the dowels will compress and the pedestal drawers will open. No "picking" required.