Empire mahogany game table

Discussion in 'Furniture' started by Trislo, Jul 7, 2015.

1. Trislo

Trislo New Member

Hello. I'm a newbie to antiques and have fallen in love with this table. It's at a shop in Portland. It looks refinished on the bottom. The shop owner says it is not. Is two tone something true to this time period? I want to negotiate price but want to be prepared. TIA

Attached Files:

KingofThings and Bakersgma like this.
  2. Bev aka thelmasstuff

Bev aka thelmasstuff Colored pencil artist extraordinaire ;)

I paid $65 for mine at a yard sale. It has a couple of dings on the edge. 2015-07-07 16.30.47 (800x600).jpg

cxgirl, KingofThings and Bakersgma like this.
  3. Bakersgma

Bakersgma Well-Known Member

Welcome to Antiquers, Trislo! You're member #700! :D

There are definitely members who will have advice about the table, but most can't/won't get too specific on value/price since there are so many variables involved. Some may give opinions about what they might expect to buy or sell for in the geographic areas they're in, however.

So which "Portland" are we talking about? Maine? Oregon? Another?

Do you have any other pictures? Like showing more closely the color and finish (perhaps even wood grain?) of the top and the pedestal and any difference between the surface of the "open" side versus the "closed" side? Any pics showing how the top is attached to the pedestal - hardware, hinges, etc. - and how the top is supported when open?

Tina and KingofThings like this.
  4. Bev aka thelmasstuff

Bev aka thelmasstuff Colored pencil artist extraordinaire ;)

Mine is obviously not in great shape, but I couldn't resist for that price. The feet match my dining room table.

I actually have an old checkerboard and checkers and some very old playing cards inside. :)

5. KingofThings

KingofThings 'Illiteracy is a terrible thing to waist' - MHH

Welcome!

6. afantiques

afantiques Well-Known Member