Featured Finding and pricing antique/vintage items

Discussion in 'Antique Discussion' started by AntiqueAnnie, Jan 28, 2019.

1. AntiqueAnnie

AntiqueAnnie Well-Known Member

Hey all,

I wanted to create this thread to discuss questions on finding and pricing antiques/vintages for resale. I am interested in doing so on the side, but wanted a few advice from others who have had the experience.. (before my attic becomes crowded :D)

Finding: I do most of my searching in thrift stores such as Goodwill,Salvation Army etc. I admit it's very fun but also overwhelming since I am still learning about such items. First thing I do is look for something that appears to be antique/vintage and look for creator's mark and signs.

Lately, I've picked a handful of things only to find out the same thing is already being sold by many on Ebay or similar sites, sometimes even at a better condition and at a lower price. Should I just go directly to an antique location, there's a huge warehouse I know with many vendors.. just wouldn't know where to start there either.

I really can't distinguish if something is worth more or less. I know you can get lucky at thrift stores, but it's starting to feel like a hit and miss, or maybe it's just me.

Pricing: The rare things I've found such as a kutani sake set and a Japanese porcelain bowl marked by T.F.F. I have no idea how much to price them for. Is there a guideline people follow? Or does it mainly depend on the item's condition and who created it?

Last edited: Jan 28, 2019
  2. clutteredcloset49

clutteredcloset49 Well-Known Member

The best place to start is with what you collect. As that is what you will have the most knowledge of.

Visit antique stores and look at what others are selling and prices. Then compare to what is being sold on Ebay and prices realized.
    Start with what you like, then broaden your scope.

This is not an overnight process. This is going to be years of learning with mistakes to make you smarter.