Featured German exquisite brooch, please help identify how old

Discussion in 'Jewelry' started by Simona Buhus, Dec 12, 2020.

1. Simona Buhus

Simona Buhus Well-Known Member

20201206_232121.jpg 20201206_232231.jpg 20201206_232357.jpg 20201206_232121.jpg 20201206_232231.jpg 20201206_232357.jpg 20201206_232443.jpg 20201206_232503.jpg 20201206_232121.jpg 20201206_232231.jpg
    Hi all,
    I would like to ask for your opinion on the attached brooch, I am completely new to this field, would like to develop it into a hobby.
    It has a marking on the needle " Made in Baden", which I did some research and it's in Gernany. Also it has another hallmark, but it's not visible.
    I tested it and it's not gold, possible gold plated, and the stone is not diamond. The central stone has a diffrent cut to a dimond, more of a round shape. Please let me know what you think of it.
    Please can you advise on how old it is, was it worn by gents or ladies, what is the style ( motif) the flower ends and the center around the stone. Also, if you are allowed, what value, is it a collectable item.It looks amazing, I have a feeling it was worn by gents.
    Also, could anyone advise on some books or websites I could start on learning about vintage jewellery.
    Thank you all so much.
    Kind regards,
    Simona

Last edited: Dec 13, 2020
  2. KikoBlueEyes

KikoBlueEyes Well-Known Member

Lovely pictures. Could you please go back and edit your post and at the top of your photos click on Insert Full image This will make it easier for members to scroll through your photos.

KSW and judy like this.
  3. Hollyblue

Hollyblue Well-Known Member

Photos too small and too much light reflection to see the stone. Diamonds and other stones come in many shapes and facet designs,I think there is over 5,000 published designs.

judy likes this.
  4. Simona Buhus

Hi,