Hello...Ercol chairs question

Discussion in 'Furniture' started by LJDJP, Jun 16, 2020.

1. LJDJP

LJDJP New Member

Hi everyone

I'm new here - and I am a newbie when it comes to antiques and old things although I am interested in learning more. I know that maybe these chairs are not antique but rather vintage/old but I have only just acquired them and would just like to know a bit more about them. I have tried to research where I can but had a few questions and after poking around on this site thought someone may be able to help?

I know they are Ercol and obviously in the darker wood. I think I have identified them as Windsor armchair (r) and Goldsmith Carver (l), although i'm not sure. Is the armchair identifiable by the number of spindles? Also, as you can see from the pictures of the armchair, the seat is made from tension springs which google tells me makes it from mid 1950's before they went to webbing. Is this the case? Does this make a difference at all (to desirability, cost etc)? Also, I was curious as to whether the material is from Ercol (if this is something that can be determined)? I have attached a picture of the label on the cushion cover and of the material. I know the cushions are new or at least have been re-upholstered but was just looking for clues

Thank you in advance for any help

LJDJP

chairs1.jpg

chairs2.jpg

chairs3.jpg

chairs4.jpg

chairs5.jpg

Last edited: Jun 16, 2020
    KSW likes this.
  2. KSW

KSW Well-Known Member

I grew up near High Wycombe where the Ercol factory was. There was a huge chair manufacturing industry there. Always good quality.
    Sorry that's a bit random!.
    I'd have both of those chairs in my house.:)

3. KSW

KSW Well-Known Member

4. KSW

KSW Well-Known Member

Christmasjoy likes this.
  5. Ownedbybear

Ownedbybear Well-Known Member