HELP! carved wood chair

Discussion in 'Furniture' started by emily ann, Jul 13, 2015.

1. emily ann

emily ann New Member

HI my name is emily and i just started collecting. I found this chair on craigslist for 20$. And i am in love! can anyone tell me about it?
    [​IMG]

cxgirl likes this.
  2. Pat P

Pat P Well-Known Member

Welcome to Antiquers, Emily Ann! :)

I like the carving on your chair and think it looks Victorian, but I'm not an expert.

3. emily ann

emily ann New Member

the fabric is somewhat new. but they left the moss in the seat. and i think that the two "wings" were added after and the top curve also.

4. Pat P

Pat P Well-Known Member

The wings do look to me like they may not have been there originally.

5. emily ann

emily ann New Member

tomorrow i am pulling out the staples on the fabric ill post pics of what is underneath. I think it is hand carved. There are tool marks and the carvings are not perfectly symmetrical. They guy i bought it from pulled it out of the trash. Someone had payed to have it taken away.

6. verybrad

verybrad Well-Known Member

Posted over on the finds thread that I thought the styling rococo. My thoughts are that this is a 19th century version but really need more pics to tell much.

7. emily ann

emily ann New Member

ill take more tomorrow my phone broke. but these pictures were on the craigslist add. the chair is massive and heavy. Im from san diego and i got it here. so i have know idea where it could be from.
    00U0U_frvlAKC7G3r_600x450.jpg 00i0i_jDuJZKyyR3C_600x450.jpg

Attached Files:

8. silverthwait

silverthwait Well-Known Member

That is one heck of a chair! It reminds me of the chair which was on the altar for the celebratory priest -- often with armless chairs on either side for the acolytes. (High Mass, folks.)

Have no idea whether or not the wings are original, and truthfully, the chair would be more attractive without them. However, I would absolutely keep them!

Funky has its place!

9. verybrad