Help finding info on this bed frame?

Discussion in 'Furniture' started by Max Dibble, Dec 11, 2019.

1. Max Dibble

Max Dibble Aspiring museum professional

Hello all! Last year I bought a bed frame off Facebook Marketplace for a measly $20. It was exactly the style I wanted, I’m no expert but I think it’s mid-century and I love MCM. Sadly, it doesn’t have any identifiable manufacturer’s logo or mark, just what appears to be a serial number and the color or style. This is printed on the back of the headboard, seen below. DD24A823-8C6F-433C-B6DA-040B8F05E91B.jpeg

Below is the front of the headboard (apologies for the mess, it’s currently being stored in my parents’ basement):
    76CF1B9C-56B1-4EE4-90EA-6602CD12BDBF.jpeg

I’d love to know who built my bed! Any info and/suggestions are welcome. Thanks in advance!

2. clutteredcloset49

clutteredcloset49 Well-Known Member

Looks similar to the late 1960s headboard I used to have. I see 78 on the back. That might be the year. - Just a guess -
    Presidential will be the collection.

Many every day manufacturers didn't mark their furniture.

3. komokwa

komokwa The Truth is out there...!

same design with 3 cubbies that I grew up with in the 60's...
    but mine was lighter hardwood...and better made.

4. say_it_slowly

say_it_slowly The worst prison is a closed heart

I think it's possible you're missing some sliding doors. I still have my parent's bed in the same style that one if my daughters says she's going to take one of these days.

Anyway here are photos of the sliding doors in action. I believe this was made by Lane in the 1950s if I'm remembering correctly.
    img20191212_070529.jpg img20191212_070618.jpg

Figtree3, Max Dibble, komokwa and 3 others like this.
  5. johnnycb09

johnnycb09 Well-Known Member

Did everyone have this bed ?? I had one too ! In fact it went from us to several relatives and its still being used by a family member ! Ours was from Badcock ,solid wood and indestructible.