Help identifying necklace clasp marks

Discussion in 'Jewelry' started by Bejud, Mar 9, 2017.

1. Bejud

Bejud New Member

Hello, I have two old necklaces, one that says sterling with a mark to the right of the word. The other necklace clasp has a mark as well. I am wondering if anyone can identify the maker marks (if that's what they are) on these two items. This is my first time on this forum and I thank you for any comments about these, age, etc.
    IMG_4478.JPG IMG_4468.JPG

KingofThings likes this.
  2. Figtree3

Figtree3 What would you do if you weren't afraid?

Hello and welcome, Bejud. I don't know the answer but... I wonder whether you can post photos of both necklaces?

And also, when you do post photos please click the button that says "Full Image" after you upload a photo.

KingofThings likes this.
  3. Bejud

Bejud New Member

Thank you for responding. I will take pictures in the morning daylight and post them. Both necklaces have one strand with their strings torn apart, and I am trying to determine if I should invest in having them restrung. If I can verify they are antique pieces it would be nice to restore them.

KSW and KingofThings like this.
  4. KingofThings

KingofThings 'Illiteracy is a terrible thing to waist' - MHH

Welcome! :)
    Please do as Fig requested.

KSW likes this.
  5. Bejud

Bejud New Member

IMG_4497.JPG IMG_4497.JPG IMG_4585.JPG IMG_4497.JPG IMG_4585.JPG IMG_4598.jpg

6. Bejud

Bejud New Member

I must have been double clicking and inserted double pictures. I am sorry.

7. KingofThings

KingofThings 'Illiteracy is a terrible thing to waist' - MHH

You can go back and remove them.

KSW likes this.
  8. evelyb30

evelyb30 Well-Known Member

They look like Japanese costume. Images of any marks on the backs of the clasps would be a big help. Most costume pearls aren't worth a lot, and these weren't knotted. You can definitely have them redone if you want to, but don't do it because they're worth money.

KSW and judy like this.