Featured help identifying pearl necklaces?

Discussion in 'Jewelry' started by Frances Bailey, Sep 15, 2018.

1. Frances Bailey

Frances Bailey New Member

hey, newbie here. made an account because i'm trying to identify these pearls i received from my grandmother a while back and if they're real. she told me they are, but i know absolutely nothing about these nor anything about antiques in general and i figure you guys do, so i appreciate help! thanks!
    pics below, i can provide more or videos of them as well:

first necklace
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

second one:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    thank you in advance, again i have no idea what i'm doing haha i appreciate any help!

judy, kyratango and scoutshouse like this.
  2. kyratango

kyratango Bug jewellery addiction!

3. scoutshouse

scoutshouse Well-Known Member

Hi, @Frances Bailey - welcome!

Even in their most over-the-top jewelry, like those below, Monet uses only faux pearls, so the top one is faux...

[​IMG]

Can you read the mark on the second piece? The catch looks like it may be sterling - it may be marked along the side of the filigree piece, kind of hidden.

There are lots of jewlies on this site, hopefully they can advise :)

4. Frances Bailey

5. Houseful

Houseful Well-Known Member

I have my doubts about the Monet as the pearls aren’t knotted, ie they are rubbing against each other unlike the second set. I think of Monet as more of a costume jewellery company. Test them by rubbing them gently across your teeth, if they are gritty then they are real pearls. Any marks on the second clasp? Good quality pearls will usually have a precious metal clasp.

6. scoutshouse

Perhaps grandpa was the liar, hmmm?

7. Frances Bailey

Oof... perhaps you're right lol

8. scoutshouse

DANG! my grandma is a liar :( thank you for your help!

Made me laugh!

9. Bronwen

Bronwen Well-Known Member