Help IDing a Hummel?

Discussion in 'Pottery, Glass, and Porcelain' started by darkingsrock, Jan 27, 2017.

1. darkingsrock

darkingsrock New Member

Hey everyone! I'm new to Antiquers.com so if I do anything wrong please let me know! I signed up because I have a specific question. I hope you guys can help me out! :) I'm so impressed by how active these forums are; you guys must really know your stuff.

I need more information about the image I attached. I can find several different Hummel knock-offs that are similar to this little guy (usually they come in pairs) but none of them match exactly.

Does anyone recognize this figurine? If not, does anyone have ideas about where I can find more information?

Thank you for your time!
    2017 Visual Trivia 23 (2).jpg

2. Bakersgma

Bakersgma Well-Known Member

Welcome! I'm afraid your attached picture doesn't have enough light to see him - and no color? Or is that not your own picture?

We always need pictures of the markings too and even a picture of the underside, marked or not.

3. darkingsrock

darkingsrock New Member

Thank you for your fast reply! Unfortunately this is the only photo I have, which is why it's been so challenging to figure it out. (It's actually for a sort-of game I'm involved in; it's supposed to be hard).

2017 Visual Trivia 23 (3).jpg
    Does this lighter version help at all?

I understand if it's too hard to identify him properly. Is there anything you can tell about him from just this photo? I know so little about Hummels, any guesses about origins or time period or really anything would be great.

Thanks so much!

cxgirl likes this.
  4. cxgirl

cxgirl Well-Known Member

Hard for me to tell - is he holding an umbrella in one hand? What is in his other hand?
    There was a figure like this and I think he had a pig in a basket on his back - I'll see if I can find it

5. darkingsrock

darkingsrock New Member