Featured Help with identifying this item please!

Discussion in 'Pottery, Glass, and Porcelain' started by Tanarina, Feb 7, 2019.

1. Tanarina

Tanarina New Member

Hi!
    Would anyone be able to provide any insight /dates/ANYTHING!! About the attached photos of this pottery? I am very new to this and any help would be much appreciated!!!
    20190208_114358.jpg 20190208_114349.jpg 20190208_114439.jpg

2. rink28

rink28 Well-Known Member

Welcome to the forum! To me it looks pretty modern. I assume "joan" hand painted this to a woman named "nellie" as a gift. Joan was probably someone who did this in their free time. I'll let someone else who knows more though cause I could be wrong

3. komokwa

komokwa The Truth is out there...!

portugal....we've seen these...very nice pitcher & basin....

sec - XVll....could be a date...

4. Bakersgma

Bakersgma Well-Known Member

Since it's Portugal, the person who painted this was Joao, not Joan, and he's a man.

Tanarina, aaroncab, Jivvy and 7 others like this.
  5. Debora

Debora Well-Known Member

Frazarte is the name of the ceramics factory that produced your piece. They're located in Batalha, which is between Lisbon and Coimbra. As noted above, it's João not Joan. (Translates to John.). Sec. is an abbreviation for Século which translates to Century. Obviously not a 17th century piece but perhaps loosely inspired by. Appears to be of recent and rather commercial manufacture.

Debora

Tanarina, aaroncab, Jivvy and 11 others like this.
  6. Debora

Debora Well-Known Member

7. Debora

Debora Well-Known Member

Here's another piece, also with 17th Century-style decoration, from the company. Sold at auction in Portugal for €10.

Debora

2092457_2.jpg

Tanarina, aaroncab, kyratango and 4 others like this.
  8. SBSVC

SBSVC Well-Known Member

Tanarina, welcome! I love your pitcher & bowl.

I am a big fan of Portuguese ceramics and have quite a few pieces in styles similar to what you've shown here.