Hey all! I’ve got a cool antique parlour set....I think!

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Blonde Mutt, Jul 8, 2018.

1. Blonde Mutt

Blonde Mutt Designer of all weird things

Hi! I am a Green Designer, repurposer, maker of everything. Don’t know much about furniture, but I love it. I’ve taken upholstery classes (not great at this) lol! I just want to learn some more!
    I found these two pieces and am having no luck on the Google.....someone please help! Tell me all about them!
    No mark that I could find. Front and back legs are different styles. One back leg on settee is twisted slightly at bottom. Brackets on both of back legs of settee. 6E4A2141-953F-4B21-A18A-6E85CEA3F99A.jpeg 2AED6F2A-435B-415C-A72C-B68EF8295C70.jpeg 9EE30319-EF35-4794-8B04-E81B3C561339.jpeg 1E226EDA-5800-47E2-A352-D5B18E2177FF.jpeg B4EF135C-71A7-485A-BE0B-8B53308C009B.jpeg 0A11B718-3EFC-4F7B-B2FE-C897629DA02D.jpeg A9285C8E-AC93-4BE9-A544-D322341F5DE0.jpeg B218501C-F0A5-4966-AFEA-9B131F894334.jpeg

2. clutteredcloset49

clutteredcloset49 Well-Known Member

Very nice late 1800s. Looks like American Oak.

As a repurposer, I hope you are planning to just re upholster and not paint these. As that would be a shame.

The one leg appears to have been broken and repaired. Not sure I would try to do anything to it, unless it isn't sturdy. It's on the backside and for the most part won't be noticeable.

3. Blonde Mutt

Thanks!
    Definitely NOT going to paint! And I’m not that good of a reupholster. Both the back legs on the settee have the weird “fix” at the bottom but only one is twisted. What about the brackets? (Cited from: https://www.antiquers.com/threads/i-got-something.28648/)

4. evelyb30

evelyb30 Well-Known Member