Featured How Long Have You Been Collecting?

Discussion in 'Antique Discussion' started by Joe2007, Sep 5, 2016.

1. Joe2007

Joe2007 Collector

I caught the collecting bug in my teens (2004ish) when my family started going to estate auctions looking for some cheap household goods. That slowly turned into bidding on other items that caught my eye like coins and art pottery.

So I've been collecting for 14 years now, although the 1st couple of years weren't really that serious. I've really taken my knowledge to a new level due to the internet and forums such as these.

How long have you been collecting?

Last edited: Sep 5, 2016
  2. Marko

Marko Well-Known Member

My jewelry collecting started at a young age. My mother wore a lot of costume jewelry, and when I was ill (which was frequently as a child), she let me sit in bed and play with her jewelry box.. My favorite aunt always wore a lot of costume sets, too. I started collecting at a local flea market as soon as I was old enough to drive, age 17, so that makes 42 years. One of my best Christmas presents comes from my family not having enough money for Christmas for my sister and me. My dad only had $10 a piece for us back in the 60s. My mom made this very special. She took us to Lee Jewelers in Pleasantville, NJ, and she had them bring out trays of rings for us to look at (birthstone rings, alexandrite purple spinels for June.) We were so excited and felt all grown up. I guess this has always stayed with me.

Ghopper1924, popsycat, BMRT and 11 others like this.
  3. Marko

Marko Well-Known Member

I still have my ring. :)

4. evelyb30

evelyb30 Well-Known Member