How to care for brittle dry wood and splints?

Discussion in 'Antique Discussion' started by MissSissy, Dec 2, 2015.

1. MissSissy

MissSissy Member

For those that haven't read my introduction post.. I am a total newbie to antiques to which I may have picked up pieces over the years only if I liked them. I rarely know what they are other than; a chair is a chair, a basket is a basket, and so on. It really doesn't matter the value or age.. it just matters if it will look good in my house. ;)

So, last year I found a chair that is all wood with a splint seat. It is so very dry and brittle! It wiggles at all the joints, and it looks like someone tried to "fix" some joints with a few nails here and there. I read here on the forum, to put water on the piece, oil it, and then wax it. My question is, what oil should I use, and is there any particular wax that should be used? Also, can I do the same things to some of my brittle baskets?

Any help would greatly be appreciated. I love my simple little chair!

PS - I would love to learn what type of chair this is... possibly shaker? Any ideas?

IMG_3610.jpg IMG_3609.jpg

GaleriaGila and KingofThings like this.
  2. Ownedbybear

Ownedbybear Well-Known Member

Beeswax, sparingly, on the wood. No water, no oil, just a wipe over with a damp cloth - an old soft towel works - then wax. Give it a good brush outside first.

Baskets, I'd use a bit of olive oil or vegetable oil, again very sparingly and after brushing them.

3. GaleriaGila

GaleriaGila Hola, y'all!

Chair aside, I love your fireplace décor, and the way everything seems to belong together. You must have a beautiful home.

KingofThings likes this.
  4. gregsglass

gregsglass Well-Known Member

Hi,
    I agree with OBB except I use mineral oil. I have had veggie oil and olive oil go rancid at least it had an odor. Never had a problem with mineral oil.
    greg

5. clutteredcloset49

clutteredcloset49 Well-Known Member