I’m a total noob

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by ActualProof, Mar 25, 2021.

1. ActualProof

ActualProof New Member

Hey guys. I was searching for some info about some trinkets/trash I recently acquired when I stumbled upon this message board full of all of you attractive/handsome people; I simply HAD to join, teut de suite! I would like to pester the board experts for some approximate date ranges for a couple of these. I hope I haven’t already broken an unwritten rule or breached etiquette already... someone among the lower caste, please let me know I have.

Anyway, on to the garbage:

item 1 is a hanging scale of the “Steelyard” variety, used for the ultra-risqué, super-sexy task of weighing tobacco or cotton. My closest guess is that it was manufactured by PSW&Co around the end of the 19th century or beginning of the 20th.
    64359F14-E921-4BE7-9194-FD999DBB3B97.jpeg

Next up is everyone’s favorite, impossible to pinpoint item: an American-made, metal-covered travel trunk! So far, the most confident estimate I’ve heard from an expert is “After 1882, but before 1891... most likely 1888-1889”. I have no idea how that specific date was arrived at, or if it’s even accurate. What I do know is that it smells like it’s lived 1,000 lives... not bad, but very distinctly “old”, kinda like your grandpa’s attic smelled when you were a kid, times 1000.

B73F5EE6-FCAD-4183-B31B-37D7B5CD1A31.jpeg F32AE896-95A1-4565-BA60-C96E4CB0FC8B.jpeg 46D29ECE-FAE4-4EEA-A4A7-A446AD891007.jpeg 9D55E96D-F338-473B-95F6-A6E1D4593FAD.jpeg F836A811-91E9-4F3B-8A2E-6807F5031AAC.jpeg D8159F99-9E2C-4DC7-B18F-F033E0D20688.jpeg

Hopefully, everyone’s browser is still intact after that image bombardment.

Ok, that’s enough for now. I would be very appreciative to hear from the experts on this board. More items to follow, if this goes well!

Thanks!!

AP

Joe2007, lovewrens and KSW like this.
  2. Robert Ransom

Robert Ransom Well-Known Member