Featured I think this was a necklace.

Discussion in 'Jewelry' started by Mill Cove Treasures, Oct 20, 2017.

1. Mill Cove Treasures

Mill Cove Treasures Well-Known Member

I found this in the bottom of a very old sewing box. It has a bad case of the greenies. What kind of beads are these? Age? I've never seen anything like these so I am completely clueless. This is my new replacement camera so the lighting is slightly off. I'm still learning how to use it. Thank you. Mill

P1330013ps1aars2.jpg
    P1330015ps1rs.jpg P1330016ps1b.jpg

2. evelyb30

evelyb30 Well-Known Member

Glass and brass, from the look of it. They look like Czech or similar molded glass.

Any Jewelry, Figtree3, judy and 3 others like this.
  3. Mill Cove Treasures

Thanks ev. :) Can it be cleaned up? Is it worth it?

Christmasjoy and judy like this.
  4. evelyb30

evelyb30 Well-Known Member

The metal is shot; the coating is completely gone. I'd say don't bother; take the poor thing apart for its beads.

Christmasjoy, judy, aaroncab and 2 others like this.
  5. Mill Cove Treasures

That's what I'll do.

Christmasjoy, judy and komokwa like this.
  6. clutteredcloset49

clutteredcloset49 Well-Known Member

Looks like glass.

Since you have nothing to loose.
    Wonder what would happen if you soaked this in a small bowl of mineral oil for a day or two, and wiped it clean.

Won't hurt the glass if it doesn't work. I'd do it more out of curiosity than trying to save it. Then tear it apart for the beads.

upload_2017-10-20_22-30-33.png

7. Mill Cove Treasures

I'll give a soak and will post some pictures so you can see the results.
    How old do you think it is?

8. Ownedbybear

Ownedbybear Well-Known Member

Dump it in a bowl of brown sauce or tomato ketchup. Works better than oil.

9. clutteredcloset49

Hard to say. I don't really know.
    Choker style so could be 40s? 50s? 60s?

10. clutteredcloset49

Since you're going to try it,