Identifying tintype age?

Discussion in 'Ephemera and Photographs' started by Jerry Coker, Jun 15, 2021.

1. Jerry Coker

Jerry Coker Active Member

I'm still pretty new to 19th century photography, but I find tintypes the hardest to identify of all antique photographs, because they were made for quite a few years. Hence, identifying a photo by a subjects clothes, hair styles, etc. seems most important. And unfortunately, I'm not very good at that yet :yawn: Is there a good website that covers both 19th century clothes & hair styles? I'll add a couple tintypes below from a family album I purchased a few months ago. The album did have some names in it, so that has been helpful. But the tintype subjects don't always match the cdv & cabinet subjects. I was originally thinking the 2 tintypes below were from the 1870's to early 1880's, but now I think maybe later? Sorry for my less than stellar photography of these examples. Also, one tintype is not in great shape.

tt01.jpg tt02.jpg

Houseful likes this.
  2. Aquitaine

Aquitaine Is What It IS! But NEVER BORED!

3. Any Jewelry

Any Jewelry Well-Known Member

1890s for both.

4. Figtree3

Figtree3 What would you do if you weren't afraid?

The second one is from the 1880s, imo. The first one probably is, too, unless it is very early 1890s. Women wore voluminous sleeves for most of the 1890s, not narrow, except at the beginning of the decade. The peaked shoulders on the coats in the first picture do replicate what happened with dress sleeves about 1890 or 1891.

Just my opinion. But I am almost 100% certain about the second one being from the 1880s.

Any Jewelry likes this.
  5. Jerry Coker