Featured Incredible Very Old Painting

Discussion in 'Art' started by NoahLArt, Dec 22, 2021.

1. NoahLArt

NoahLArt Member

Screenshot_20211222-013345~2-min.png Screenshot_20211222-013345~3-min.png Screenshot_20211222-013654~2-min.png Screenshot_20211222-013814_2-min.png Came across this painting locally and as someone who looks at many art pieces, I've never been as stunned by an individual piece. Appears, from the back, to be very old and in my opinion very well done. Any ideas on the artist (not signed). I found a piece that gave the same feel to me (Interior with Soldiers and Women - Jacob Duck), but I'm not an expert in dating and I can't reasonably tell the difference in 150 and 300 years old.

Last edited by a moderator: Dec 22, 2021
    Aquitaine, reader, kyratango and 7 others like this.
  2. komokwa

komokwa The Truth is out there...!

great painting....looks very old and expensive.... but WDIK ???

3. Any Jewelry

Any Jewelry Well-Known Member

Welcome @NoahLArt . I added one of your photos to my post.
    Your painting reminds me of Jacob Duck paintings too, but even though yours is nice and skilfully painted, it doesn't have the high quality of Jacob Duck paintings.
    I think it is more likely a 19th century genre painting, inspired by 17th century paintings like those by Jacob Duck.

With those pieces of armour I imagine the two gentlemen could be discussing ways to defend their town against the Spanish during the Dutch war of independence. The 19th century was the age of nationalism throughout the Western world, when national identity was discovered and emphasised through historic scenes and grand statues.

(Yes people, Jacob Duck was a real person, a 17th century Dutch painter.:playful:)

[​IMG]

Last edited: Dec 22, 2021
  4. moreotherstuff

moreotherstuff Izorizent

Is it painted on panel? If so, what kind? What is the size?

5. Debora

Debora Well-Known Member