Featured Interesting etching GF initials no date

Discussion in 'Art' started by David Madacsi, Dec 18, 2019.

1. David Madacsi

David Madacsi Active Member

so I've been researching this for a couple of years. It was an interesting find at a tag sale. The woman said her husband had been stationed overseas during the war and brought it back. My research so far has uncovered that it is a scene outside of Rome, the cart is called a Carro da Vino, used to transport wine. They had a very interesting cover to keep of the sun and dust off the driver. Looking up artists with GF, Giovanni Fattori became a likely suspect and though he has done an image of a Carro da Vino, his style seems very different. If anyone has any ideas who the artist may be or the general date I'd love to hear. You can see at the bottom left, in the margin there is a small sketch in the plate (remarque) of a wine glass and bottle. I've tried dating the bottle style but have found various dates. I really love the image. I'd love to have more info on the technique- i did a bit of research here and looked initially like dry point but not so wispy so not quite sure there either. The paper is large and quite still. one of the images below includes a pen for reference. carro_da_vino smaller.jpg bottle.jpg carro back.jpg carro full.jpg

dude, kyratango, aaroncab and 4 others like this.
  2. David Madacsi

sorry, should say the paper is quite stiff. And there are no watermarks

Christmasjoy likes this.
  3. David Madacsi

Can anyone hep identify the artist or the time period?

4. Debora

Debora Well-Known Member

Last edited: Jan 3, 2020
    David Madacsi likes this.
  5. David Madacsi

6. Debora

Debora Well-Known Member

Perhaps this will help: