Interesting Flea Market Finds

Discussion in 'Jewelry' started by Barn Owl, Jun 3, 2017.

1. Barn Owl

Barn Owl Well-Known Member

I'm living in Germany, and each week there are loads of flea markets. I've wanted to get into antique collecting for a while now, and I figured, what better place to begin than here.

The problem is that I'm a total beginner and I don't have a lot of room in my luggage, so I've been collecting lightweight objects. Today, I purchased this lot (and an unshown West German canteen/mess kit) for 20 euros. The ring is .826 danish silver, if the hallmark is legitimate. So far, I've identified the other objects as:
    Bronze East German Pestalozzi Medal
    French mother of pearl souvenir bracelet
    Watch fob with 1939 Swiss coin.
    Bronze Whistle
    Edelweiss Pendant
    West German costume jewelry Cuff Links
    1890-1940s Postcards

I haven't been able to identify the bracelet and brooch yet. The brooch has "34" stamped on the back of the cabochon, but no signatures. Any ideas?

Do you have any suggestions on how I can put my money to good use? Would you call this a poor haul? Also, are there any threads on identifying antique jewelry or flea market finds?

Attached Files:

KingofThings and Christmasjoy like this.
  2. SBSVC

SBSVC Well-Known Member

Hi, Barn Owl, and welcome!

I think you did just fine with your new purchases. Others will be along to tell you more about them.

Meanwhile, if you choose the "full image" option when you post your photos, they'll show up bigger in your post, so others can see them better, like this:

collection.jpg

3. Barn Owl

Thank you! I didn't know how to use the "full image" option. I'll use that from now on.

Beautiful cat, by the way. Is it part maine coon?

KingofThings, Christmasjoy and SBSVC like this.
  4. Barn Owl

5. SBSVC

SBSVC Well-Known Member

Aww, thanks, Barn Owl.

Nope, he's not Maine Coon at all, as far as I know. (Just fluffy with a plume for a tail.)