Introduction - Peter Hoesli

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Peter Hoesli, Jul 26, 2020.

1. Peter Hoesli

Peter Hoesli New Member

Dear All,
    I am very pleased to join this community and would like to introduce myself.
    I am a Swiss national, Hotelier, collecting antiques since I am a teenager.
    In 1979, I have taken my first trip to Egypt with my parents. This trip started a life-long passion for travel and antiques! To my luck, my parents travelled the world and I have joined them often. In the 80s and 90s, I travelled mainly with my mother to all parts of the world, including a fabulous 8-weeks world tour in 1987. since I was a boy, I always wanted to work in the hospitality business and if possible abroad. Both of my parents were working abroad in the 1950s and encouraged me and my sister to do the same - and we did.
    I have been working abroad since 32 years, in Bermuda, Bangkok, Langkawi (Malaysia), Kota Kinabalu (Borneo-Malaysia), Cairo, Petra, Aqaba, Dead Sea (all in Jordan), Gaza (Palestine), Al Khobar (Saudi Arabia) and since March this year in Abidjan (Côte d’Ivoire), which I have visited the first time with my mother in 1980...
    Antique ethnic jewelry is my passion and I am a vivid collector (over 2,000 pieces are in my collection). I bought my first antique bracelet on my trip to Ethiopia back in 1982.
    My collection of antique ethnic jewelry is concentrating in the following regions and countries: Yemen, Oman, Palestine, Jordan, Syria, Iraq (mainly Kurdish region), Saudi Arabia, Caucasian region including Armenia and Dagestan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Russia, Turkey, Balkan (Bulgaria, Macedonia, Albania, etc.), North Africa (Siwa Oasis, Libya, Tunisia, Mauritania, Morocco) and lately also West Africa.
    A renowned museum in Germany will have an exhibition of a selection of my jewelry (Oman, Yemen, Saudi Arabia, Jordan, Palestine, Syria and Iraq) in 2023.
    Looking forward to an exciting exchange with the members here!