Featured Iwo Jima memorabilia and more

Discussion in 'Militaria' started by CCR, Jun 25, 2014.

1. CCR

CCR New Member

I a few years back had the Honor of meeting with and speaking to History, if I may so call them. As a veteran myself 72-83 USA I attended a reunion with my pastor James Ramsey who was a WWII Iwo Jima veteran himself having fought on Iwo Jima with the USMC, at the meeting I had both the Privilege and Honor of speaking with and being Humbled by the presence of the surviving Medal of Honor recipients of Iwo Jima,along with Col Paul Tibbets and surviving crew of the Enola Gay,The survivors of the USS Indianapolis and the 1st Female Air Force W.A.S.P...at this reunion I was honored to have been initiated as an Honorary marine by Jack Lucas the youngest marine in corp's history to have ever received the MOH,he was 15 when he won it 17 when they pinned it on him (look him up)..it started when he ask me when I had served in the marine's, I proudly stated to him I had never served in the corp's that I was U.S. Army..he laughed and said oh! A-int R-eally M-arine Y-et (ARMY) I laughed and reminded him he was really Dept of the Navy..we both laughed and then he said well lets make you an Honorary Marine while your here with us. I then was truly Humbled and Grateful to have been among such great men and women who thought more of me them of themselves ..many have passed since then but they will always live on in my heart and the hearts of others who both knew and loved them.. (Vets don't forget)..I have a cd of that meeting and pictures of us and me among the many Heroes there ..along with a History book signed by all the survivors of the battle of Iwo Jima and other men and women who supported them..I have never forgotten how blessed I have been to have shared a moment with history in true life,something I will cherish forever. I have posted a few pictures here hope you can and will appreciate them as I have...thanks for letting me share with you what I could