Featured JOHANNES SPITLER Blanket Chest

Discussion in 'Furniture' started by James Conrad, Nov 3, 2021.

1. James Conrad

James Conrad Well-Known Member

A Spitler chest is going on the sale block in 2 weeks, I'll be interested to see how that goes. The Spitler family settled in the Shenandoah Valley VA in the 18th century, they were Swiss/German Mennonites who were fleeing religious strife in Europe.
    A farmer by trade, Spitler supplemented his income by building & paint decorating various furniture forms, mostly blanket/dower chests. He was a gifted painter and although many of his works have a modern art type quality to the decoration, this chest is more of a traditional germanic design. Birds & tulips are featured but, he DID slip in an inverted (upside-down) heart, perhaps a preview of what was to become a signature of his work. Painting traditional designs in a very unconventional way.
    Estimate is 80k-120k

1.jpg
    3.jpg

2.jpg

Last edited: Nov 3, 2021
    Boland, Firemandk, mark737 and 11 others like this.
  2. James Conrad

A couple of Spitler chests that are more fully developed decoration wise

2005.8.29.jpg

Kinzle_Fig._2_6R.jpg

fig9_lg.jpg

judy, Firemandk, mark737 and 8 others like this.
  3. moreotherstuff

moreotherstuff Izorizent

Those later pieces were probably considered scandalously daring in their day.

Bronwen, judy, James Conrad and 2 others like this.
  4. wiscbirddog

wiscbirddog Well-Known Member

And what is your guesstimate, on hammer price, James?

5. SeaGoat

SeaGoat Well-Known Member

My heart!
    They are so beautiful!

Bronwen, judy and James Conrad like this.
  6. Aquitaine

Aquitaine Is What It IS! But NEVER BORED!

So, we can assume, James will be right in the middle of the bidding war!!!:smuggrin::smuggrin::D:D And they're WELL PAST MY pocket book, but ALL are LOVELY!!!

Bronwen and judy like this.
  7. komokwa

komokwa The Truth is out there...!

Bronwen, judy, Firemandk and 2 others like this.
  8. Any Jewelry