LOOKING TO ID ANTIQUE ENAMELED SAILOR BROOCH

Discussion in 'Jewelry' started by fortheloveofcollectibles, Jan 11, 2021.

1. Hi all, newbie here! I collect many things from bygone eras & I'm looking to begin ID'ing some of those things here. I recently purchased this brooch on Ebay & it's unlike anything I have in my collection. I would love any & all info one may be able to provide me with! Thanks in advance :).
    preview_20210111052318094.jpg

judy likes this.
  2. moreotherstuff

moreotherstuff Izorizent

Figure looks very Dutch to me.

Bronwen, Figtree3, Bakersgma and 3 others like this.
  3. Wow, thanks so much for the quick reply! Exactly what I was thinking!

judy likes this.
  4. Any Jewelry

Any Jewelry Well-Known Member

Yes the figure represents a Volendam fisherman, surrounded by tulips. Both Dutch themes.
    It is unlikely to be Dutch made, but part of the late 19th-early 20th century 'Hollandmania'. Could have been made in Germany.

5. Thanks so much, @Any Jewelry! I was pretty confident regarding it being Dutch themed as soon as I saw it, but the rest of the info you provided me with is a HUGE help! I like to learn as much as I possibly can about the things I collect, but some things can be difficult to ID through a general web search. Definitely grateful to have stumbled upon this site :).

Bronwen and Any Jewelry like this.
  6. Any Jewelry

You're welcome.:)
    A bit more info, those ready made pin backs where first used in the early 1920s.

7. Do you mean just the pin part or the entire thing minus the enameling? Prior to that, did they look different?

8. Any Jewelry

The pin part, the strip with the pin and clasp which is attached to the back. But that also helps to date the entire thing, including the enameling.
    It is generally seen on base metal brooches.
    Prior to that, the hinge (with the pin) and the clasp would have been soldered on to the back, like on this brooch:

upload_2021-1-11_13-51-47.jpeg