MILITARY? Wings & Rope Pin NO Marks Looks Sterling

Discussion in 'Militaria' started by bennett, Dec 9, 2014.

1. bennett

bennett New Member

I found this pin mixed in with some nice WWII USAF wings, but it does not look like any US wings I could find out there, which makes me suspect a foreign Marine service. The pin looks very much like it is made of sterling silver, but there are absolutely no marks. The pin is small at 1 3/4" long by 1" wide.
    Any ideas?

Attached Files:

2. evelyb30

evelyb30 Well-Known Member

Navy aviator sweetheart piece? That's what it looks like to me. Early on they made that jewelry out of sterling because it wasn't a war metal.

3. bennett

bennett New Member

I considered that, but the sweetheart pins I found in my searches seem to include a heart in the decoration. Of course it could still be a sweetheart piece. Just seeing if anyone recognized it. I am a real novice in the area of military medals, but I've had some successes that make me want to try! Thanks for the input!

4. evelyb30

The heart isn't necessary; some sweetheart pieces were miniature replicas of military insignia, or larger versions.

5. Messilane

Messilane Well-Known Member

I have pored over every site I can find (including a Google Image search), but I haven't been able to find one like it.
    It's driving me mad.

6. evelyb30

It could be a post-War fantasy piece too. There was a lot of fake heraldic and the like jewelry made in the 50s.

7. Messilane

Messilane Well-Known Member

Oh, sure . . . make it even harder. :hilarious::hilarious:

8. bennett

bennett New Member