Modern Boyd Vaseline Uranium Glass

Discussion in 'Pottery, Glass, and Porcelain' started by ScottN, Feb 10, 2017.

1. ScottN

ScottN New Member

Hi everybody

I am a Nuclear Chemistry student, and I am currently working on a project about Uranium and its domestic uses over time. I recently purchased off ebay a small bird called Bernie which is listed on Boyd's website but not much info as they have closed down. When I purchased it, it was Advertised uranium glass. Can anyone me does the Vaseline glass Boyd Made in early 2000 still contain Uranium for sure and not some substitute. It does fluoresce bright green under UV black light.
    I've tried reading it with my geiger counter but because its so small I think the Radiation level is very small that it can't detect out . Please can someone reassure me and put me out my worry. Thank you everyone.
    Scott Nokes

lauragarnet likes this.
  2. komokwa

komokwa The Truth is out there...!

I'm glad it's Uranium....& not Myranium..! :hilarious:

3. Rayo56

Rayo56 Well-Known Member

I'm just glad it's Uranus - (Minds out of the gutter, THE PLANET!) :)

lauragarnet likes this.
  4. gregsglass

gregsglass Well-Known Member

Hi,
    Just a note. Vaseline glass is a yellowish green. Uranium glass can be any color. I have dealt with Fiesta. The orangish red is radioactive. I have had several pieces of red stored away in a wooden cupboard for 30 years. When tested the Fiesta was still slightly radioactive. The wooden cupboard showed NO radioactivity. I have eaten off Fiesta (red and other colors) for almost 60 years some of it chipped and cracked. I have been tested by hospital labs for years, never had an increase in radioactivity.
    greg

jackolin, lauragarnet and judy like this.
  5. clutteredcloset49

clutteredcloset49 Well-Known Member

Are there other chemicals that could have been substituted for uranium that would have given the glass the same color and reaction to a black light?