Mysterious Knife, Need Help [RESOLVED]

Discussion in 'Militaria' started by PhalanX, May 26, 2017.

1. PhalanX

PhalanX New Member

Hello again,

I searched and searched but I didn't find any useful info on this knife. All i can tell you is that it has an inscription "1821"; this might be the year? Also I am not sure it is silver. It also has a figure that seems historic and a seahorse.

What do you think? Origins? Historic Period? My guess is silver, platinum, I don't really know. So I do not know its worth.

Any insight is helpful :angelic:

Last edited: May 26, 2017
    Joshua Brown likes this.
  2. PhalanX

PhalanX New Member

It may be a recreation. And the 1821 mark can be linked with the revolution that took place in that year.

I am not an expert so let me know what you think about its genuinity.

Joshua Brown and judy like this.
  3. terry5732

terry5732 Well-Known Member

Mid east tourist item. There was similar posted not too long ago. The silver metal is white brass.

Joshua Brown, judy and PhalanX like this.
  4. PhalanX

PhalanX New Member

Something like that. I found a similar one that said its origin is from Greece. I made up my mind; it is a Greek souvenir dagger made from white brass.

Thanks and have a nice day!

5. Mat

Mat Well-Known Member

Yes, you are correct, a Greek souvenir, 1821 for the beginning of the Revolution and the bust is Alexander the Great.

komokwa and PhalanX like this.
  6. Any Jewelry

Any Jewelry Well-Known Member

To me your knife is very mysterious indeed, I don't see a picture. Am I the only one?

Aquitaine, PhalanX and aaroncab like this.
  7. Bakersgma

Bakersgma Well-Known Member

They were there when the thread was first posted. OP must have deleted them.

PhalanX likes this.
  8. PhalanX

PhalanX New Member

This is the first forum I joined in years. Am still new. My bad. I will post them again :angelic:

9. Bakersgma

Bakersgma Well-Known Member