Need Help with ID of 585 Italy Script Initial Mark, Please!

Discussion in 'Jewelry' started by jcoe2004, May 19, 2019.

1. jcoe2004

jcoe2004 New Member

Hey all, I am a newbie, but not quite new to jewelry, so I am hoping I can help a few of you out as well! I came across this necklace that has all the markings of a fake Italian Gold necklace. It is marked 14K Italy, 585, but it also has this script on it that looks like initials. They look like a GU or JU, but the U is really weird. Also in cursive. I have never encountered this before. It has been vinegar and magnet tested. I hate the acid, so I didn't use it. Hopefully the pics are clear enough. They two pics are only of the mark that I need help with. $_57 (14).jpg Any help would be greatly appreciated!! Thanks much ~ Jessica

scoutshouse and judy like this.
  2. Hollyblue

Hollyblue Well-Known Member

It is not fake unless it has been acid tested or machine tested.14K Italy 585 has been used by known makers,but it has also been used for fakes.The only thing a magnet will tell you is the piece is magnetic or not,it cannot tell you what metal it is.

kyratango, scoutshouse and judy like this.
  3. komokwa

komokwa The Truth is out there...!

They two pics are only of the mark that I need help with.

Be that as it may , the one pic is blurry... we need a clearer shot please,
    & most jewelry folks would like a look at the entire item...
    help us, to help you !!! :)

kyratango, scoutshouse and judy like this.
  4. Any Jewelry

Any Jewelry Well-Known Member

Welcome Jessica.

We definitely need more photos, preferably not blurry. Try photographing it in natural light against a white background. You will have more reflection of the light so the exposure won't be too long.
    And please don't hold it in your hand, just put it down, so you will have one less shaking hand to deal with.;)

Italian goldmarked jewellery can be gold or plated. The marks you mention don't mean this necklace is not gold.