Newbie asks: What era is this from?

Discussion in 'Antique Discussion' started by hikarupanda, Apr 17, 2015.

1. hikarupanda

hikarupanda New Member

Hi all, I'm a newbie here (and newbie in the antique world as well). I recently bought this jewelry wooden box at Marche Aux Puces in Porte De Vanves, Paris during my honeymoon. That's my first visit to an antique flea market, and now I'm so interested and curious about anything old yet beautiful, lol. Anyway, back to the box. Can anyone tell me what era is it from? It's marked Made in Italy at the bottom, the Parisian hostess at our b&b thought it's from around 1920s-1930. Any info would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Attached Files:

• box.jpg
      box.jpg
      File size:
      124.8 KB
      Views:
    kentworld and KingofThings like this.
  2. say_it_slowly

say_it_slowly The worst prison is a closed heart

Hi, welcome to the boards and congrats on your marriage! I can't offer anything on your box but someone else may know instantly. It's possible that photos of the inside, the bottom, hinges etc. might be helpful.

There is a style referred to as "Florentine" that was popular and this may broadly fits that term. I think of that as a 1960s-70s thing (I think) but I could be completely off base. Someone else will know I'm sure.

Figtree3 and KingofThings like this.
  3. hikarupanda

hikarupanda New Member

Thank you for the quick response! I am at work now, but you are right, I should post more photos tonight when I get home, especially the hinges and the Made in Italy marking at the bottom!

KingofThings likes this.
  4. Ownedbybear

Ownedbybear Well-Known Member

I think 50s or 60s, it's very typical of the souvenir stuff we saw on hols in Italy then.

KingofThings likes this.
  5. KingofThings

KingofThings 'Illiteracy is a terrible thing to waist' - MHH

Welcome! :)

6. KingofThings

KingofThings 'Illiteracy is a terrible thing to waist' - MHH