Newbie here - Questions about coral necklaces

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Teresa81, Nov 10, 2020.

1. Teresa81

Teresa81 New Member

Thank you for the welcome.

I have been searching and searching the Internet to try and find some information on some mandarin coral necklaces that I have, which my search was basically unsuccessful. So then I thought I'm going to search for a forum where possibly I can get some help in figuring out just what I have, so here I am. I would greatly appreciate any input on these necklaces as like I said, I haven't had much success in searching.

I am going to upload some pictures and I'm hoping I'm making this post where I'm supposed to and hope I get the pictures posted correctly too.

Thanks in advance.

IMG_4764.jpg

IMG_4765.jpg

IMG_4768.jpg

IMG_4774.jpg

Last edited: Nov 10, 2020
    KSW and Any Jewelry like this.
  2. Debora

Debora Well-Known Member

Only one of those necklaces looks like coral. The other looks like jade. Are the clasps silver? The address is in Japantown. What does the handwriting say? Sept 21, 1937 or 1939? And what follows?

Debora

Last edited: Nov 10, 2020
    Teresa81, KSW, Any Jewelry and 2 others like this.
  3. Teresa81

Teresa81 New Member

I'm not very knowledgeable about jewelry at all, Debora, but I thank you for your reply. The orangish-colored necklace, the only thing it says on the clasp is GOLD FLD, and there's only a small piece of clasp left on the green necklace and I can't see anything written on it.

These belonged to my great aunt (my grandma's sister) and they were given to me years ago and I've finally gotten them out wanting to figure out just what they are and if they are of any value? Thank you for your help.

KSW and Christmasjoy like this.
  4. Debora

Debora Well-Known Member

And what does the handwriting say? What part of the world did she live in?

Debora

Teresa81, KSW and Christmasjoy like this.
  5. Teresa81

Teresa81 New Member