newbie stumped finding information

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by craig leach, Jul 22, 2019.

1. craig leach

craig leach New Member

Hi all I have joined this forum as bit stumped trying to find some information about a potters mark on a vase. I am a complete newbie to pottery and seem to be struggling with sourcing information. Any information would really gratefully received as the marks are on a vase from family and no information is known about it.

Attached Files:

Any Jewelry likes this.
  2. say_it_slowly

say_it_slowly The worst prison is a closed heart

Hi Craig and welcome!

Sometimes people don't look in the Introduction section for people looking for information so if the info you seek doesn't turn up here you might ask in the Pottery section.

Anyway, most times it's helpful to see the object along with the mark as sometimes that alone can jog someone's memory.

For made in England potteries a good site to check is this one which has lots of info. I don't see the exact combination of initials listed however I'm wondering if it might be Wild & Adams (Ltd) Longton? My Godden's book of marks doesn't show this particular mark for them however.
    http://www.thepotteries.org/mark/w/index.html

Someone may know it, I'll have little further look.

3. judy

judy Well-Known Member

Hi Craig!

Welcome to Antiquers..........

i need help and Any Jewelry like this.
  4. craig leach

craig leach New Member

Hi Judy pleased to meet you

i need help likes this.
  5. craig leach

craig leach New Member

That’s brilliant thank you, to be honest wasn’t quite sure what to put and where so my apologies. That’s brilliant thank you I do think they may be an mantchester/Lancastrian pottery. Once at laptop I’ll post some photos. Can I just say thank you for your help it is really appreciated

i need help, judy and Any Jewelry like this.
  6. craig leach

craig leach New Member