Featured Old embroidered black and white textile - Swedish? Russian?

Discussion in 'Textiles, Needle Arts, Clothing' started by Bookahtoo, Feb 6, 2020.

1. Bookahtoo

Bookahtoo Moderator Moderator

I found this textile at my parent's house when I cleaned it out recently. I don't know where it came from. My mother really didn't keep anything once it ceased having a practical use, so I'm thinking this may be a family piece?
    It is about 22" wide by 35" long. I believe it is embroidered with a satin stitch (?). Each row repeats a figure or figures - birds, flowers, are those bears?

How old do you think this is? Where was it made? Are those bears?

smallDSCN1265.JPG
    smallDSCN1266.JPG

smallDSCN1258.JPG

smallDSCN1259.JPG

smallDSCN1260.JPG

smallDSCN1261.JPG

Figtree3, judy, i need help and 8 others like this.
  2. laura9797

laura9797 Well-Known Member

Looks Mexican to me but I am not good with textiles. I love it!!!

3. KikoBlueEyes

KikoBlueEyes Well-Known Member

With that tail, I think foxes. Quite a nice piece of work.

DizzyDaff, judy, i need help and 3 others like this.
  4. Bookahtoo

Bookahtoo Moderator Moderator

Hmm - it does look like a fox.

5. KikoBlueEyes

I'm wondering if the birds with the top feathers are quail. Quail have one top feather like that, but this may be artistic license to put two. I'm thinking if you figure out the critters that will lead you to the country. I picked up an embroidered belt, while in Peru. Not an antique. It has local birds and animals as the motifs.

Last edited: Feb 6, 2020
  6. ulilwitch

ulilwitch Well-Known Member

Beautiful! Maybe mayan symbols? Does look like a fox.

7. Any Jewelry

Any Jewelry Well-Known Member

It has double headed birds/eagles as well, so we are looking at a region or country that has a double headed eagle as a symbol. Which is most of Europe, and no doubt it traveled to the Americas as well.
    Just one example of many, the coat of arms of Toledo, Spain:

[​IMG]