Old hand-painted oil on canvas(several)

Discussion in 'Art' started by CluelessFarmBoy, Sep 25, 2021.

1. CluelessFarmBoy

CluelessFarmBoy Active Member

I happened upon these beauties about a week and a half ago settling an estate of a successful neurology surgeon in A very upscale neighborhood where the sale completely bombed, there wasn't more than a handful of people there each day and let's just say it wasn't their neighbors that were coming to look at the stuff so it makes no surprise to me that none of the collectibles none of the art none of the expensive furniture was touched, I am no expert but I do know that these are not your average run of the mill litho reprints, the curator claims them to be hand-painted oil on canvas dating somewhere in the realm of late 1800s to mid 1900s, I thought that was a pretty broad range I'm assuming he doesn't know anything about art either so that's why I'm here, where's the experts? What am I looking at here? Much appreciation for any insight! Cheers!
    BTW, I'm referring to the pieces that are standing along the perimeter of the fence all the ones laying flat or lithos reprints a few are original arts just from modern artists.
    kmc_20210925_202814.jpg kmc_20210925_202818.jpg kmc_20210925_202821.jpg kmc_20210925_202825.jpg kmc_20210925_202829.jpg kmc_20210925_202833.jpg

2. Marie Forjan

Marie Forjan Well-Known Member

3. Debora

Debora Well-Known Member

From what I can see, the curator was surprisingly ill informed. I don't see anything that isn't a decorative or a copy of a well known painting. Degas above, as identified. I also see Morisot, Da Vinci...

Debora

Last edited: Sep 25, 2021
    JayBee, NewEngland, Bakersgma and 3 others like this.
  4. Marie Forjan

Marie Forjan Well-Known Member

NewEngland and CluelessFarmBoy like this.
  5. Debora

Debora Well-Known Member

Are they now yours?

Debora

CluelessFarmBoy likes this.
  6. Debora

Debora Well-Known Member