Pita Maha introduction

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by rene Zen Bali, Jul 31, 2018.

1. rene Zen Bali

rene Zen Bali Member

Thank you all for the kind welcome.

I am so excited to be a part of this group and meet fellow patriots of the arts.

It is a great pleasure to see and discuss art.

I live on Bali in a little village near Mas and Batuan where many Pita Maha artists lived, as you know, these talented artists come from a family line of artists, with many still following their parents lineage, they actually live in Balinese family compounds that have nor changed much over the last several generations so one can experience an authentic nostalgic when visiting these artist families.

I am on an adventure to discover learn and collect pieces from the Pita Maha era 1930 to the 1970.

I have been collecting art for well over 25 years and have acquired a large collection of both ethnographic tribal material and post work war 2.

My interest in collecting Pita Maha Art Deco pieces was ignited after visiting several Museums.

I believe the seed was actually sown when I saw a picture of JFK and Sukarno.

On a recent visit to Java, we visited the air force Museum in Jogya, it is filled with aircraft from the 1930s to the one that I found to be most interesting,,,,yes its was a gift from JFK to Sukarno, so that Sukarno could attend Diplomatic meetings in Asia.

I look forward to discussing and sharing my experience along with yours.

Sincerely
    Rene

Chiquita, judy and Christmasjoy like this.
  2. komokwa

komokwa The Truth is out there...!

Welcome..........sorry to hear about the trouble in Lombok.
    U seem passionate about your local artisans ...so when you have a moment ...if you see any of these.....

8ballsteveLOT.jpg

could you get those artists to stop carving them...please.....

all_fakes, Christmasjoy and judy like this.
  3. Any Jewelry

Any Jewelry Well-Known Member

Welcome again, Rene. You live in a beautiful part of the world.